(248) 557-1688

teen driver license requirements mi

Michigan’s Graduated Driver Licensing Law Seeks to Give Teens More Road Experience

By Lipton Law on February 23, 2012 - No comments

Older drivers who got their first license in Michigan may remember when our state’s driver licensing program was pretty simple: learn to drive, get learner’s permit, then at age 16, receive a driver’s license.

However, as research mounted showing that inexperience was the number-one threat to drivers under age 19, Michigan joined many other states in implementing a graduated-driver licensing system: a multi-step process designed to give young drivers more practice and more experience before sending them out on their own.

Today, Michigan teens can begin learning to drive at age 14 years, 9 months. After successfully completing a driver’s training course, they must drive on a learner’s permit for at least six months, practicing their skills with a licensed adult in the vehicle for at least 50 hours on the road. Ten of these hours must be driven at night. At age 16, a teen driver may receive a Michigan graduated driver’s license, which allows him or her to drive alone, but prohibits more than one passenger under age 21. A second round of driver’s training is also required. Once the young driver turns 17, he or she may have a full-fledged Michigan driver’s license.

At Lipton Law, our experienced Southfield car accident lawyers are dedicated to helping those injured in car accidents and their families. Our first priority is to serve each of our clients to the fullest extent. If you or someone you love has been hurt in a car accident, call us today at (248) 557-1688 for a free and confidential telephone consultation.