(248) 557-1688

michigan comparative fault rule

Michigan Increases No-Fault “Minitort” Limits

By Lipton Law on June 11, 2012 - No comments

Michigan governor Rick Snyder recently signed a bill that would increase the state’s no-fault insurance “minitort” limits from $500 to $1,000, according to a recent article in Michigan Lawyers’ Weekly.

No Fault Insurance SouthfieldUnder Michigan no-fault insurance law, most people injured in car accidents must settle their claims with insurers and not in court, unless they are killed or suffer certain severe injuries. However, the law has long contained a “minitort” provision that allowed drivers to recover up to $500 in damages for property damage in an accident.

The new law doubles the previous minitort limit, allowing motorists to collect up to $1,000 for property damage in a Michigan no-fault car accident case. The law also prohibits drivers from collecting minitort damages, however, if they were driving without the required minimum no-fault insurance at the time.

Michigan’s comparative fault rule applies to minitort claims just like other personal injury claims. If a driver seeking minitort damages is found to be 50 percent or more at fault for the accident, that driver will not be allowed to collect damages from any other party.

Michigan’s no-fault insurance procedures can feel overwhelming, especially when you’re also trying to deal with all the problems an accident causes. At Lipton Law, our experienced southeast Michigan no-fault benefit claim lawyers are dedicated to helping people with every step of the no-fault insurance process, including seeking “minitort” damages or even going to court if needed. To learn more, call us today at (248) 557-1688 for a free case evaluation.