(248) 557-1688

Michigan Repeals Motorcycle Helmet Law, For Some

By Lipton Law on April 16, 2012 - No comments

For nearly fifty years, Michigan has had one of the most comprehensive motorcycle helmet requirements in the state. Everyone riding a bike was expected to wear a helmet, or face legal consequences if caught without one.

Michigan Motorcycle Helmet LawNow, that situation has changed. Governor Rick Snyder recently signed into law a bill that allows some Michigan bikers to ride without their helmets, as long as they meet the law’s new requirements. Motorcyclists who don’t meet the requirements for riding without a helmet may still face criminal penalties if they are caught without their helmets.

The new MI motorcycle law allows motorcyclists to ride without a helmet on Michigan roads only if they meet the following requirements:

  • Rider must be 21 years of age or older;
  • He or she must have $20,000 or more of insurance coverage for injuries; and
  • The rider must have passed a motorcycle safety course or had a motorcycle endorsement for at least 2 years.

Passengers may also ride without helmets if they are 21 years of age or older and have an additional $20,000 of insurance coverage. The extra insurance can be purchased by either the passenger or the driver of the motorcycle.

Violating the new law is a misdemeanor, with a maximum possible sentence of $100 in fines, 90 days in jail, or both.

Motorcycle helmets can prevent or reduce the severity of many types of head and facial injuries, including traumatic brain injuries. However, no helmet can prevent every accident or injury, especially when another person’s negligence is at fault. At Lipton Law, our experienced motorcycle accident lawyers in Southfield strive to provide exceptional representation and advice to each of our clients. If you’ve been injured in an accident, call us today at (248) 557-1688 for a free and confidential case evaluation.

Related Articles:

 

Leave a Reply:

Name (required):

E-Mail (required):

Website:

Comment:

*