(248) 557-1688

Tips for Protecting Teen Drivers in Michigan

By Lipton Law on May 7, 2012 - No comments

The month of May typically sees increases in car accidents among 16- and 17-year-olds, as more teens hit the road to enjoy prom, graduation parties, and other activities, according to a recent report from Kentucky Farm Bureau Insurance. If your teen will be driving or riding along with friends this month, here are a few ways to help keep him or her safer on the way:

  • Give your teen plenty of chances to practice driving with an adult in the car, especially at night. Learning to drive with supervision gives your teen needed experience that driver education courses don’t always provide.
  • Know your state’s laws regarding young drivers. For instance, Michigan limits the time of day at which holders of MI graduated licenses may legally drive, prohibiting driving between 12 a.m. and 5 a.m. in most circumstances. Make these laws the basis for the rules you set on driving in your own family.
  • Limit the number of passengers your teen can carry. According to Kentucky Farm Bureau, 60 percent of teens who lose their lives in car accidents were riding with a teenage driver. Riding or driving with friends is fun, but it also poses serious risks.
  • Prohibit cell phone calls or texting behind the wheel. Teens should pull over and stop the car before using their phones.

Teen drivers’ inexperience may increase their risk for accidents, but severe injury or death can occur in a car accident no matter what a person’s age is. If you or someone you love has been hurt in a crash, the experienced Southfield car accident attorneys at Lipton Law can help. Call us today at (248) 557-1688 for a free and confidential consultation.

Related Articles:

 

Leave a Reply:

Name (required):

E-Mail (required):

Website:

Comment:

*